Life on the commons: linux on a laptop

25Sep06

As part of my commitment to commons, I have decided to take the plunge and install Linux on my Mac Powerbook laptop. I’ve held off on this for a couple of years now, since I am not a computer guru and god knows there are other things to do with your time than install computer operating systems. But the new Dapper version of Ubuntu Linux looks pretty good, and stable now, so I think I’ll give it a go.

My first step was yesterday, when I downloaded the Ubuntu “live install” iso image and burned it to a CD. When I booted the Powerbook off of it, everything looked good. My internet DSL worked from the moment I plugged it in. The mouse was a little jumpy at first, but a minute spent with the Ubuntu mouse settings took care of that. OpenOffice worked fine. All in all, I was pleased.

So now it’s time for the scary part: using parted to try and repartition my hard drive without losing my data. That will happen sometime this week. If all goes well, I may be able to liberate my laptop into the Commonland over the weekend.

No Responses Yet to “Life on the commons: linux on a laptop”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

